Markethill congregation was formed about 1693. The earlier 17th century ministers in the area were Presbyterian as far back as 1610 - having arrived with the Planters - John Hamilton, Henry and Archibald Acheson and others settled in the area. Hence, a Presbyterian Witness and presence was here in the very early stages of the Plantation of Ulster.


The first known minister of the congregation, Rev Archibald Maclaine (1698 - 1734), was the first Presbyterian minister in Ireland to be prosecuted in the Episcopal Church courts for performing Presbyterian marriages. A second congregation was formed in 1745, this church became a Seceder cause and their first minister was Rev David Arrott (1749 - 1807) who started four other churches : Moira, Sheepbridge (Second Newry), Tyrone's Ditches, and Ahorey.


On 1st November 1919 the two congregations were united and continue to use both Meeting Houses. 


We hope you enjoy our little trip through the fascinating history of Markethill Presbyterian Church. If you have any questions, comments or even complaints, then please let me know.


Jim Reaney




First & Second  Markethill Presbyterian Church 2007
For problems or questions regarding this web contact  Webmaster

 Design and Development by Jim Reaney